RUBY

Hi! I am Ruby and I am an almost white Dalmatian mix with some light brown spots on my ears and face. I also have some light brown spots in my glistening white fur down my back. I am very young being approximately 1-2 years old and have a lot of energy to run, play, and roll around in your lap. I love to play fetch and enjoy all of the toys in my bin and basket. After playing, I like to have my body rubbed and in return I give plenty of kisses.

I am best buddies with Walker (other foster dog on the web page) and we hang out together outside in our large fenced in yard during the day. I also have the famous Dalmatian trait in that I smile, smile, smile usually when I first see you. I am leash-trained and enjoy going on long walks. I definitely need a home where I will get plenty of exercise and where everyone has time to play with me and give me the attention and love that I need.

My start in life was not the brightest. I was brought to the shelter in November of 2006 with a gunshot wound to my ear after being found as a stray with another dog. I did not really enjoy the shelter because of my high energy level. Being confined to a kennel was not my idea of fun even though I loved all the shelter workers and they took great care of me. My foster parents are almost positive that I was abused or mistreated, most likely by a male, but that does not stop my willingness to trust new people after I get in a few good sniffs and a treat!! Within 30 seconds to a minute I am playing and loving on you! My foster parents are working on socializing me and this will need to be done also by the wonderful person/family that adopts me.

My foster home consists of my adult mom and dad and a 5 year old boy who I love to play fetch with! He seems to be the only one that has as much energy as I do, and I will sit with him while he plays with his trucks and plays outside. I am also living with Walker as mentioned above, and three other Dalmatians. I am housebroken, not food aggressive (some days I would rather play than eat!), know a few basic commands like sit and stay (I will jump up to give hugs/kisses and my mom keeps telling me down, but that one is just so hard!), spayed, up to date on shots, heartworm negative (and on preventative) and on Frontline to keep the fleas and ticks away from me while I am outside. If you are interested in having me become a member of your family, please fill out an application!

5/11/07

Email Jackie Threatte at ccdal@comcast.net for more information or to request an application form.

Back to CCDAL's Home Page